What are the nine navarasas – Anahata Organic


The Rasas serve as the cornerstone of performing arts, which aims to depict diverse facets of human existence. Bhava, which is the root of emotion, establishes the state of rasa. Every rasa is about the mental state of humans and corresponds to a specific bhava. Rasa includes both the different factors that contribute to an emotion as well as the feeling itself.

Shringara Rasa (Love)

The rasa of love, art, beauty, and spiritual devotion is shringara. It is the most frequently portrayed rasa among all rasas and is represented in a variety of artistic mediums. The feelings of love in unity (Sambhoga Shringara) and in separation make up the mood of Shringara (Bipralamba Shringara). A prime example of Shringara Rasa in Sattriya culture is the interaction between Lord Krishna and the gopikas in the Keligopal Naat by Mahapurush Srimanta Sankardev.

Hasya Rasa (Laughter)

Hasya is the essence of delight, and comedy is the most typical way it is expressed. Real happiness, or hasya, is a joy that emanates from within. This rasa is used to represent everything from mild joy to hysterical laughter. The Keli Gopal Naat and the Rukmini Haran Naat, both composed by the Great Vaishnavite Saint, both contain glimpses of this rasa.

Karuna Rasa (Sorrow)

A rasa of melancholy, grief, and compassion, the Karuna. Karuna encompasses all tragic and depressing emotions, heartache, separation grief, loss of a lover, and suffering brought on by a loved one’s passing. The Sanskrit word for “karuna” originally meant “sadness,” even though the highest karuna is compassion. Mahapurush Srimanta Sankardev employed the Karuna Rasa extensively in a number of Naats. When Satyabhama in Parijat Haran learned that Krishna had given Rukmini the Parijat flower, her facial expressions exhibited karuna rasa.

Veera Rasa (Courage)

The Veera represents courage, bravery, boldness, tenacity, and self-assurance. Aspects of heroism include bravery in combat, a warrior’s attitude toward warfare, and the courage with which they die. In Hindu legend, Abhimanyu showed a different kind of bravery when he went to battle while well aware that he would be vastly outnumbered and probably definitely perish. Nevertheless, he battled valiantly till the very end. The Veera Rasa is depicted in different characters in Sattriya dance and culture, including those of Keli Gopal, Kaliyadaman, Patni Prasad, Parijat Haran, Rukmini Haran, Rambijay, Arjun Bhanjan, etc.

Raudra Rasa (Anger)

The most aggressive rasa of the others, the Raudra Rasa portrays fury. Raudra Rasa can take many different forms, such as royal wrath, anger brought on by an affront, and rage produced by injustice and disrespect. Kansha, Narashingha, Parashurama, Lord Shiva, and other characters are all presented in the Raudra Rasa.

Bhayanaka Rasa (Terror)

The Bhayanaka Rasa portrays extreme fear, worry, and anxiety. When one encounters an entity that is more powerful than themselves, they experience a feeling of helplessness known as bhayanaka. In many of Mahapurush Srimanta Sankardev’s productions, including his first poetry work, “Karatala Kamala,” where it is stated that Lord Vishnu removes dread from one’s mind, Bhayanaka Rasa is used.

Beebhatshya Rasa (Disgust)

The feeling of disgust or discontent with oneself and others is known as beebhatshya. Unpleasant feelings, such as Beebhatshya, are evoked by impolite and vulgar behaviour as well as by employing poor language and etiquette. Prince Siddhartha later evolved into Buddha, one of Lord Vishnu’s incarnations, as a result of the revulsion he felt for disease, ageing, and death.

Adbhuta Rasa (Surprise)

Adbhuta is the rasa of wonder, amazement, and curiosity. Adbhuta is the sensation experienced when one encounters something celestial and extraterrestrial that has never been witnessed or imagined. The Adbhuta Rasa in Sattriya Dance can be noticed in the courtyards’ expressions when Sri Rama broke the Hara Dhanu in Sita’s Swayambar. In the “Choordhora Naat,” Yashodha’s reaction when she realised the entire cosmos was in the mouth of young Krishna is another illustration of Adbhuta Rasa.

Shanta Rasa (Tranquility)

The rasa of tranquillity and peace is Shanta. It stands for a peaceful, steady state free from stress. Shanta is a symbol for total unification of the mind, body, and universe. When Buddha became enlightened, he experienced shanta, which helped him find salvation or nirvana and set him free from the cycle of life and death.